Various of IMISCOE’s core activities are organized in task-specific committees.

The Financial Committee serves as the Network’s auditing committee. The leading partner (Erasmus University of Rotterdam) administers finances of the IMISCOE Research Network and guarantees financial accountability. The task of the Financial Committee is to prepare financial control for the Board of Directors. Members are appointed by the Board of Directors.

The Editorial Committee guarantees the quality of the IMISCOE publications and herein reviews submitted publication, advises on the structure of the IMISCOE publication program. The journal CMS is led by an Editorial Board. The, External Affairs Committee defines policies concerning IMISCOE’s external relations, in particular relations to the broader social, policy and political environment. The coordinator of the External Affairs Committee is responsible in chairing all the face-to-face and virtual meetings. Herein, the coordination of the implementation of the recommendations also happen. The coordinator also manages the EAC-agenda, represents the EAC at the BD, and is in permanent contact with the IMISCOE director.  

The training committee groups together a number of key activities related to PhD and MA/MSc level traning, including the PhD Committee, EuMIGS and the organization of PhD summer schools. Finally, there are several committees specifically for IMISCOE Awards, including Maria Baganha PhD Award committee, and the Rinus Penninx Best Paper award committee.


Financial Committee

  • Dr. Arnfinn Midtboen, ISF, Norway
  • Dr. Wiebke Sievers, ISR, Austria
  • Warda Belabas, EUR, Netherlands, serves as secretary

Editorial Committee

  • Professor Anna Triandafyllidou, European University Institute, Florence
  • Professor Stefan Jonsson, Linköpings universitet
  • Professor Jorge Malheiros, Centre for Geographical Studies (IGOT - University of Lisbon)
  • Professor Eva Østergaard-Nielsen, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Dr Agata Gorny, University of Warsaw
  • Dr Stephanie Alison Condon, INED (National Demographic Studies Institute, France)
  • Dr Jean-Michel Lafleur, University of Liège & FRS-FNRS
  • Dr Albert Kraler, Department for Migration and Globalization, Danube University Krems
  • Dr Aneta Piekut, Sheffield Methods Institute, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Dr Laura Oso, Universidade da Coruña, Spain

Irina Isaakyan will serve as the committee's managing editor. For contact, please mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Read more about the Editorial Committee

External Affairs Committee

  • Dr. Albert Kraler, International Centre for Migration Policy Development, Vienna
  • Prof.dr. Marco Martiniello, Centre d’Études de l’Ethnicité et des Migrations, Liege (CEDEM)
  • Prof.dr. Andreas Pott, Institut für Migrationsforschung und Interkulturelle Studien, Osnabruck (IMIS)
  • Dr. Sarah Spencer, Oxford University (COMPAS)
  • Prof.dr. Ricard Zapata-Barrero (coordinator), Universitat Pompeu Fabra (GRITIM)

 Training Committee

  • Dr. Marta Bivand Erdal, Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)
  • Dr. Cathrine Talleraas, Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)
  • Dr. Jens Schneider, Institute for Migration & Ethnic Studies, Amsterdam (IMIS)
  • Prof.dr. Eleonore Kofman, Middlesex University London, Middlesex (MDX)
  • Prof.dr. Marco Martiniello, Centre d’Études de l’Ethnicité et des Migrations, Liege (CEDEM)

Award Committee

Maria Baganha PhD Thesis Award Committee

  • Dr. Rosa Aparicio Gómez, IEM, Spain (Chair)
  • Dr. Pawel Kaczmarczyk, CMR, Poland (Jury)
  • Prof.dr. Russell King, SCMR, UK (Jury)
  • Dr. Albert Kraler, ICMPD, Austria (Jury)
  • Dr. Janine Dahinden, University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland (Jury)
  • Prof.dr. Endre Sik, TÁRKI, Hungary (Jury)
  • Prof. Ferruccio Pastore, FIERI, Turin, Italy (Jury)
  • Warda Belabas, Netherlands, serves as the committee’s coordinator

Rinus Penninx Best Paper Award Committee

  • Prof.dr. Rinus Penninx, University of Amsterdam (Chair)
  • Dr. Deniz Şenol Sert, Özyeğin University, Turkey (Jury)
  • Prof.dr Laura Oso, Universidade da Coruña (Jury)
  • Pedro Gois, University of Coimbra (Jury)
  • Mag.dr. Ursula Reeger, Austrian Academy of Sciences (Jury)
  • Dr. Marta Bivand Erdal, Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO (Jury)
  • Dr. Joaquin Eguren, Universidad Pontificia Comillas (Jury)
  • Dr. Blanca Garcés-Mascareñas, Universitat Pompeu Fabra (Jury)