Call for Nominations: Maria Ioannis Baganha Dissertation Award 2023

21 December 2022

Deadline: 31 January 2023

The IMISCOE Network is calling for nominations for its 2023 Maria Ioannis Baganha Dissertation Award. The Network has awarded this prize annually since 2010 to stimulate and recognize excellent PhD research in the field of migration research. This award is dedicated to the late Maria Ioannis Baganha, the leading migration scholar at the Centre for Social Studies (CES) at the University of Coimbra and one of the IMISCOE founders. 

Eligibility and requirements

The 2023 competition is open to all PhD recipients whose official defence date occurred within the 24-month period preceding the deadline for submission of 31 January 2023. The competition is open to all interested candidates whether they are based in an IMISCOE Member Institute or not. Dissertations from all academic disciplines and methodological approaches are welcome. Applicants who have applied in earlier years cannot apply again. Theses manuscripts in which a majority of the substantive chapters are co-authored publications will not be accepted.

Nominations must demonstrate a significant contribution to the field of international migration research in one or more of these criteria:

  • Research quality
  • Originality
  • Theoretical contribution
  • Methodological/empirical contribution

Applicants must submit the following:

  • A completed application form (download it from  default here (850 KB) )
  • A summary of the dissertation (in max. 2.000 words) and up to 5 keywords
  • A single PDF file of the dissertation including all appendices, references, notes etc.
  • A CV (max. 2 pages)

 Applications must be in English, but the manuscript can be written in any language that IMISCOE member institutes deem acceptable for PhD dissertation submissions.


The multi-disciplinary jury comprises experienced members of the IMISCOE Research Network who are recognised experts in their field. All members of the jury must declare the absence of any potential conflict of interest. Jury members cannot take part in the evaluation of their own PhD candidates, or candidates from their own institute or candidates with whom they share direct collaborative links (e.g., a joint publication).

Two-stage review procedure

The jury will compile a short-list of the best dissertations from the pool of applications. The evaluation of the applications will be done in two stages. The first stage, leading to the shortlisted candidates, is mainly based on the assessment of the summaries provided by the applicants. Each shortlisted dissertation will be reviewed in the second stage by a member of the jury and two external evaluators. The winner will be notified in June 2023.


The award includes a cash prize (paid only to a university institutional account) and the opportunity to have the dissertation published in Open Access at the IMISCOE-Springer series, free of charge but subject to the manuscript’s review by the IMISCOE Editorial Committee.


The award is scheduled to be presented at the 20th IMISCOE Annual Conference, to be held in Warsaw and Online on 3-6 July 2023. The winner is expected to attend the Conference on-site and present their work during the Awards Ceremony.

Deadline and application procedure

Applications should be submitted by email to the IMISCOE Network Office: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 31 January 2023. Questions concerning the award can be emailed to the IMISCOE Network Office.


Latest News

Luicy Pedroza

2023 IMISCOE´S MIGCITPOL Standing Committee Annual Workshop

06 February 2023
MIGCITPOL received over 50 submissions for its 2023 Annual Workshop "GOVERNING MIGRANT CITIZENSHIP RIGHTS IN TIMES OF PROTRACTED CRISES" [Call for Papers now closed. Thanks for your interest!] Crises are generally characterized as the outcome of sudden...
IMISCOE Network Office

IMISCOE PhD Day 2023

06 February 2023
The IMISCOE PhD Network Board invites PhD students to participate in this year's PhD Day. The theme of the event is 'The importance of mental health during the PhD journey'. During the event, which will take place on 17 February from 13:00 to 16:30 CET...
Angeliki Konstantinidou

[Lecture Series] “License to Dream: Skilled Mobilities and the Politics of Gender" by Prof. Radha Sarma Hegde

06 February 2023
The Qualification and Skill in the Migration Process of Foreign Workers in Asia (QuaMaFA) project is organising its last hybrid lecture “ License to Dream: Skilled Mobilities and the Politics of Gender ” by Prof. Radha Sarma Hegde (New York University)....
Angeliki Konstantinidou

DeZIM: Researcher/Postdoctoral Researcher for the Horizon Europe Project EQUALSTRENGTH

02 February 2023
Deadline for application: 19 February 2023 The German Center for Integration and Migration Research (DeZIM) e.V. in Berlin is searching for a (postdoctoral) researchers to be employed with 35,1 hours per week (90%) starting on 01.04.2023 in the...
Angeliki Konstantinidou

SC MITRA: Writing Retreats

31 January 2023
MITRA is organizing writing retreats for PhD students throughout the academic year. The first sessions for 2023 are happening on Feb 6 th and Feb 20 th from 9.00 GMT to 14.00 GMT . For more information, please send an email to This email address is...